Were You Denied Worker's Compensation? 3 Common Reasons It Can Happen

Suffering a worksite injury is never a pleasant experience, but worker's compensation is designed to assist you with getting back on your feet. Unfortunately, worker's compensation isn't always approved. It may have been denied for any of these 3 reasons.

The Claim Was Not Submitted On Time

It can be difficult to think about worker's compensation when you are recovering from an injury, but it is important that all paperwork is filed before your state's deadlines.

For example, Tennessee requires you to notify the employer within 30 days. Tennessee then gives you one business day following employer notification to inform the state of your injuries to start your worker's compensation claim. Your insurance provider is then notified, who will have 2 weeks to file all additional forms required by your state. If these deadlines are missed, your claim may be denied.

It can be difficult to track all of these deadlines that are unique to your state, which is why it helps to hire a lawyer to take care of everything for you.

The Claim Was Disputed by Your Employer

If your employer does not believe that the injury occurred while working for them, or the injury occurred because you were not doing your job properly, they have a right to dispute the claim.

That's why it is so important to have witnesses that can vouch for how your injury happen if you need to appeal your denied worker's compensation claim. If you do not have a witness, any evidence that you have that can prove the injury happened while on the job will only strengthen your case. This could be photographs of broken equipment that caused the injury, and notifying your employer promptly with medical bills that are dated soon after.

The Claim Was Filed After Being Fired

Each state has specific eligibility requirements for receiving worker's compensation. One common issue that can cause a claim to be denied is if you file the claim after being fired. Once again, this is why it is so crucial to notify your employer of an injury immediately.

Ohio won't side with a fired employee that was fired due to misconduct. Keep in mind that this is different than if your employer fired you because you missed work to seek medical treatment. Your health should be your number one priority, and if you lost your job because of an injury, worker's compensation is there to help you. For assistance, visit sites like http://www.ieworkerscompattorney.com